Hands that Hold

DSC_0347Cristian,

It’s much too late, but I can’t sleep.  For the first time during this trip, it’s not because the Cantina outside my balcony is loud; in fact, it has been strangely quiet tonight.  I lay in bed and though I’m exhausted, rest won’t come….because all I see is you.

All I can see is your chalk-stained face, your dark skin worn from scars and open cuts.  I can picture your jean jacket that doesn’t even come to your bare belly button, your faded shorts, and holey green crocs.  And so, instead of sleeping, I pray for you.   I pray that God gives you so much more than you have right now.  My prayers are not for you to own a nice house and a fancy car one day.  There is so much more in my heart for you.

I pray for you to have friends that love you instead of pick on you because you are the littlest.

I pray for more days like today when we saw you smile for the first time at the river.

I pray you will laugh…do you laugh?

I pray for hope to enter your eyes, where now there is only sadness.

I pray for courage, though you only feel timid.

I pray you will get medical attention and the sores covering your body will be no more.

More than anything, I pray you will follow Jesus with abandon, and know deeply God’s love for you.

I pray you will no longer be called “orphan” but instead belong.

I pray  you will know you are wanted, though your mom didn’t seem to think so.

I pray that your heart heals and someone is there the day you learn your dad was killed.

And the prayer that continues to flow from my lips: I pray for hands that hold you instead of the ones that beat you.

Please, Papa Díos, let it be so.

(For updates on Cristian please read here)

10 thoughts on “Hands that Hold

  1. I wept when I read this b/c I completely understand. The longer I am here, the more I think about this country’s children. I think it’s safe to say that we’ve been Awakened, sister. :) I love you and I am SOO proud of you.

  2. Thank you so much for sharing your heart. To read how you are feeling is inpiring to me and I know it will inspire others to act as well. The redeeming end to Cristians story is that people like yourself are working in his life now, God is working in his life and his future is brighter than ever before. Thank you for going on this trip and making a difference to the children you are visiting. Tell the team Hello from us back home and our prayers are with you guys.

  3. Thank you for sharing your heart. Rex is a friend of mine and I know that you’ve articulated exactly why Servant’s Heart exists. This is not only well written, it’s inspiring and heart breaking. God is going to use this, you, and Cristian in a mighty way. What was intended for evil, God will redeem for eternity.

  4. I know exactly how you feel. I was in that village just one short month ago. My heart still feels a tug to get back there quickly. I remember the first day as we left the village. I told the Rex (from Servants Heart) to just take me back to the airport (3-4 hours away) because I could not handle another day and then have to leave. I will continue to pray for your heart that as God tugs you will answer the call. But for now thank you for answering the call to go this week.

  5. Sweet daughter of mine… your words and photos have been with me all day… shared with some friends and forwarded on. I am proud, inspired, encouraged and humbled to watch God at work in your life…thankful He allowed Dad and me the blessing of being some of the tools in the “toolbox of your life”.

    Be bold…be strong…the Lord goes before you.

    Love you Rie

Leave a comment